Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 cultural differences between Kozakura and Wa?
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Lemernis
Senior Scribe

378 Posts

Posted - 19 Nov 2008 :  11:22:15  Show Profile  Visit Lemernis's Homepage Send Lemernis a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I'm working on a BG2 mod that develops the NPC Yoshimo. According the the novelization of Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn by Philip Athans, Yoshimo hails from Kozakura. So in conceiving a backstory for him I'm studying up on his homeland in the source book Kara-Tur. (Note: I want the lore to be 2nd ed. AD&D, not from later editions.)

I'm trying to decide how much of the cultural information presented in the section on Wa may be assumed to apply also to Kozakura. What do you all think?

Wa and Kozakura both transparently transpose ancient Japan to the Forgotten realms. In both we have samurai, shoguns, ninjas, ronins, etc. In the section on Wa the source book provides a lot more material on culture and social organization. Kozakura is located right next to Wa. The material on Kozakura's culture social organization focuses mostly on its shogunate governmental history, and the role of architecture in its society. Religion is virtually the same in both lands.

For those of you who have the Kara-Tur source book, do you think that the sections on Wa's Social Order, Village Order, and Family Order may be said to apply equally to Kozakura? I'm thinking that material would apply, since the two sets of islands are right next to one another geographically and the two nations share just about every major cultural feature. But what do you all think?