Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Thoughts (and objections) on stopping the timeline
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Jeremy Grenemyer
Great Reader

USA
2717 Posts

Posted - 02 Jul 2012 :  19:33:31  Show Profile Send Jeremy Grenemyer a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hope this isn't too terribly off topic. FWIW I think the timeline should not be frozen, but I also think there is some value in going back to a certain era and filling things in here and there.

RE: novels and canon:

In my experience, novels can produce a lot of enthusiasm to play D&D in the Realms. The novels have the effect of exciting people about the setting. When I started playing D&D in the Realms I was excited to be playing in the same world where displacer beasts bite the feat off of thieves, adventurers ride flying shields to hack at the bellies of dragons and spellfire-wielding heroes melt ancient, terrible beholders into nothing.

I’ve based a lot of my D&D campaigns around novels set in Cormyr.

However, it’s sometimes tricky for me as a DM, because I’ve had players ask “Are these novels I’m reading (and enjoying) part of our game?” I can see that my players are enthusiastic and I’m tempted to say yes, because I want them to have as much fun as possible. But I’m also hesitant, because as often as not I haven’t read the novels they have and I don’t want to limit my options. Nor do I want to create in my player’s heads any sort of cognitive dissonance between the contents of a novel and the events in our campaign.