Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Realmslore
 Sages of Realmslore
 Earth and Fearun?
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Etude
Acolyte

2 Posts

Posted - 13 Jan 2003 :  21:05:07  Show Profile  Visit Etude's Homepage Send Etude a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Newbie here (to this board that is).

Quick question (something that's bothered me for a while): In one of the two Deities books, they mention something about the opening of portals from another world in some prior point in Toril's history where a migration of peoples took place. The reference is sort of vague but they give short descriptions about the civilizations from that world. They sounded a lot like Ancient Rome, Greece, Egypt, and the Celts. I wish I could give a more detailed quotation but my brother has discarded these resources so I can't any more specifics.

If I remember correctly again, the second Deities book also talks about the "Egyptian" portion of the Forgotten Realms and about their Gods and how they where shut out from their home world or something like that...

I apologize again for the vagueness but that's all I have left memory wise.

lowtech
Learned Scribe

USA
315 Posts

Posted - 14 Jan 2003 :  20:30:49  Show Profile  Visit lowtech's Homepage Send lowtech a Private Message  Reply with Quote
They aren't necessarily from Earth, certain pantheons are based on real world mythologies (or theologies, the Indian Pantheon is based on Hindu gods-all the religions in DnD seem structured after aspects of Hinduism, actually). The origion of the Mulhorandi's and others is left open, so they can be from Earth if you want.
Go to Top of Page

zemd
Master of Realmslore

France
1103 Posts