Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Combat's Role in D&D
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Diffan
Great Reader

USA
4430 Posts

Posted - 09 Mar 2020 :  17:25:02  Show Profile Send Diffan a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
So in another thread, it was discussed that combat is an oft-centered point, or rather, the MAIN center aspect of the role-playing game. On one hand I do agree that D&D has always been, at it's roots, a wargame with role-play elements. I mean it's what it evolved from originally with Chainmail.

As the game changed over the decades, one might say that the focus shifted slightly towards other aspects besides combat. Now I'm not an expert considering that I only got into the game in the late 90's when AD&D 2E was in full swing but even then it was basically boiled down to "here's a quest, kill the monsters, grab their loot, save the day - rinse and repeat." and things were pretty good. You did have some exploration (dungeons, jungles, deserts, woods, etc.) and you had occasional discussions with NPCs or people of importance and each other and sometimes the whole session was planning or talking with a healthy dose of goofing around. Still, at it's heart Combat remained the key figure and that was certainly the goal when it came to class design.

With 5th Edition in full-swing one of the designer's key components with the new edition was pushing the 3-Tiers of play concept. This was Exploration, Combat, and Social elements. A good doze of all 3 were needed to make the game really great. And conversely, this is something people really felt was left to the way-side with the previous edition (4E).