Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Political Strife in Neverwinter
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Diffan
Great Reader

USA
4429 Posts

Posted - 07 Jan 2017 :  14:56:29  Show Profile Send Diffan a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Howdy folks!

So I started playing the Neverwinter MMO game on my new XBox One and one of the plots of the game is to put down unrest that's brewing among the Neverwinter citizenry, especially against the faction of people called The Sons of Alagondar. This group wants to restore the rule of Neverwinter from the so-called usurper Lord Neverember back to the people and the "rightful" heirs of Alagondar, of which there's some questions about their legitimacy.

Now this group, dubbed "The Sons" has separated into two groups: The Nashers (aka Gnashers) and the Grey Cloaks. The Nashers were led by a Harper and have mostly stuck to things like sabotage, larceny, and minor skirmishes resulting in more bruised egos than bloodshed. But now the Harper is gone, presumably dead, and is currently led by a cutthroat who's upped the game to rioting, murder, and assassinations. The Nashers have had recent success but it's costing them valuable political momentum with those in power.

The Grey Cloaks, on the other hand, are far more concerned with the lasting effects and rule of Neverwinter. They're more likely to work with Lord Neverember in making the citizenry a louder voice within the framework of the government. But in achieving this they're not above blackmail, espionage, backstabbing, and bribery to achieve their results. They frown on the Nasher's brutal tactics as it's making their job harder in the long run.