Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Advice for the Sundering & Tyranny of Dragons
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Strange-Scribe
Acolyte

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 18 Mar 2015 :  02:59:16  Show Profile Send Strange-Scribe a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Very good evening to all. I apologize upfront if this was covered in some way before, I'm kind of new here, though I thought I would ask it anyway.

I'm still kind of new to the realms as a whole, yet at the same time have liked everything that I have been researching/reading/listening to. One thing I am not that new at,(I would by no means call myself an expert or even great most of the time, but I think I'm decent at it), is being a DM, and I have been very interested as of late in trying my hand at running the realms.

I have been thinking about starting up a game using a good amount of the adventures from 5th ed/Next: Murder in Baldur's Gate, Legacy of the Crystal Shard, and the Tyranny of Dragons material. So sort of a Sundering into Tyranny campaign I suppose, or perhaps an Era of Upheaval Campaign would be a better title? ...

Anyway, finally to the Questions:
Does anyone have any general advice for a realm newbie on this one? I mean obviously the adventures themselves and knowing them are a huge help, but I kind of like it when players go off script a bit, so it might be beneficial to have some general tips for realm lore/running the realms if that does happen.