Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Regarding dwarves' skin color
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Seco
Acolyte

2 Posts

Posted - 24 Feb 2021 :  16:41:54  Show Profile Send Seco a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I'm new to Forgotten Realms, and while reading some material about the Realms, I was puzzled about the description surrounding dwarves' skin color.

According to the lore, shield dwarves are typically pale, while gold dwarves have a darker tone. Monsters of Faerun even depicts golden dwarves with a very dark skin color.

I can't get my head around this - doesn't make sense, at least from a biological point of view. A lot of shield dwarves dwell on the surface, living in human's kingdoms. They are in a daily contact with the sun, which should mean darker skin colors. On the other hand, golden dwarves live under The Rift. They get a little to none sun in their lives. From this point of view, they should have lighter skin color, even being pale.

Is there an explanation for this variety of color? I've searched the forum for similar question, but find none.

PS: Sorry for any grammatical errors. English is not my native tongue.

Edited by - Seco on 24 Feb 2021 16:43:50

TheIriaeban
Master of Realmslore

USA
1289 Posts

Posted - 24 Feb 2021 :  16:58:04  Show Profile Send TheIriaeban a Private Message  Reply with Quote
The 2e supplement Dwarves Deep has this to say about gold dwarf skin tones:

"Gold Dwarves are dusky-skinned and dark-haired--their hair is usually black. Some have mahogany-hued, brick-red or even deep-red skin instead of cinnamon brown."