Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Campaign idea, input welcome
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

carl.white
Acolyte

United Kingdom
8 Posts

Posted - 24 Aug 2014 :  11:14:03  Show Profile Send carl.white a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I'm pretty new to the Realms (and very new to this site). But with the launch of 5e and the default setting due to be Faerun I've decided that the Realms will be the setting for our group's next campaign.

I'm well aware that there is not a lot of love out there for the 4e version of the Realms. Nevertheless I have decided to go with that setting, as I found the 4e campaign guide an easy jumping on point.

I have a campaign background that most of the adventures will tie into in some way, slowly revealing the true events as the campaign (hopefully) reaches higher levels. And that's what I could use some guidance on from folks with a better knowledge of the Realms than me. Does the plot work, do the players fit, are there any obvious hooks or interesting groups I should tie in that fit the themes?

Your feedback would be very welcome.

SHADOWS ACROS THE MOON

After Cyric killed Mystra and unleashed the Spellplague on Toril he was imprisoned forever... or so the gods believed.

Shar has weakened the prison that contains Cyric, allowing a sliver of access to a realm once thought to be inaccessible. During a total lunar eclipse the prison realm of the Supreme Throne can now be reached using sympathetic magic. Shar now seeks seven keys to unbind the mad god, that he may kill her sister Selune. This act will hurl the moon into Toril, causing untold destruction and plunging the world into moonless darkness.