Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Ancient Book research in Candlekeep
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Memmorath
Acolyte

Finland
8 Posts

Posted - 07 Nov 2018 :  23:25:18  Show Profile Send Memmorath a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Hello,

I've been running a one-on-one campaign for about five years now and the story has taken the player to Candlekeep to research an ancient tome.

The tome in question is said to have the secrets of immortality within, unlockable through alchemical rituals and eastern (Kara-Turan) philosophies.

I'm looking for some ideas how to incorporate book research in a meaningul way to make the stay in Candlekeep interesting. The idea is for the PC (lvl 10 Red Wizard) to stay in Candlekeep anywhere from 3 to 9 months researching this ancient Kara-Turan tome.

The tome, Immortal Alchemy, is supposedly from Kara-Tur and written in a dead language. Deciphering the text should be very difficult and while the scribes of Candlekeep could / would provide some assistance, I'd much rather have the PC do all the actual researching.

I've already read what info I could find about Candlekeep itself and its rules (including the max duration of stay, but I'm disregarding that), but the gameplay aspect of the research is still incomplete.

The game is played on Roll20 and I'm planning on using Handouts to represent various research milestones and to present options to pursue, worded better but essentially "try using this method using this knowledge skill against this DC for this many days".

Anyways, any help with fresh ideas or gameplay mechanics to look at would be welcome, thanks.

Lord Karsus
Great Reader

USA
3736 Posts