Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Can someone please explain driders to me?
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

SABERinBLUE
Acolyte

30 Posts

Posted - 16 Nov 2016 :  19:14:49  Show Profile Send SABERinBLUE a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
So to explain where I'm coming from here, I haven't read a TON of realms stuff but the first book I read was Evermeet so I know where the drow came from, I started playing in 4th and switched to 5th, played a ton of Neverwinter a few years ago, I've read the first six and a half drizzt books and am halfway through War of the Spider Queen. What I don't understand at all are driders. I see female driders depicted in most official game art, Lolth is almost always depicted in drider form, and I've gotten the vibe on a number of occasions that driders are seen as blessed by Lolth, elevated to a higher status by the transformation. And it would seem to make sense that becoming a half-spider would be a very positive thing for a race that worships a spider-themed goddess. However, in all the Salvatore novels I've read (and I figure if anyone knows drow it's Bob) driders are almost always male, depicted as near-mindless creatures whose remaining humanoid body parts are bloated, hideous, and death-like. Becoming a drider is a dire punishment and reserved only for those males who fail drow society utterly. And it's not just in Bob's books; it's pretty much like that in War of the Spider Queen so far. I remember a drider in the first book who was perfectly intelligent, but still male, having been transformed as a punishment. Am I just imagining the vibe I got before reading the novels about it being a positive thin