Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Waterdeep Population, Density, & Agriculture
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

KanzenAU
Senior Scribe

Australia
763 Posts

Posted - 21 May 2016 :  04:01:08  Show Profile Send KanzenAU a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I've been trying to reason out Waterdeep's population and how it would be supported, and I thought I'd post it here for anyone's interest. This will be lengthy, and keep in mind I have no background in demographics or agriculture, so take it as you will. A great deal of my calculations were made using Medieval Demographics Made Easy and its associated FAQ. When I'm referring to them below, I'll use MDME.
http://www222.pair.com/sjohn/blueroom/demog.htm
Apologies in advance for skipping around between metric and imperial systems, but I'm from Australia and I personally find metric easier to visualise.

WATERDEEP POPULATION OVERVIEW
For the purposes of this, "CIty of Waterdeep" refers to the population within the walls of the city, "Greater Waterdeep" refers to the population outside the walls (eg. Undercliff in 1479+), and "Agrarian Waterdeep" refers to the population farming the land past Greater Waterdeep.