Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Products
 Forgotten Realms Novels
 Need suggestions for first-time FR novel
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

moonbeast
Senior Scribe

USA
522 Posts

Posted - 21 Oct 2015 :  00:19:13  Show Profile Send moonbeast a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Hi all,

So I'm interested in getting…. and reading …. my first D&D/FR book. Yes, I've played D&D and other RPGs for a long time but never bothered to read a single Forgotten Realms novel.

I'm not a prolific book reader, so I'd welcome some suggestions. What's a good, and very highly-rated FR novel? A must-read? It doesn't have to be a Driz'zt book. But I would be interested in a novel that covers the era closer to 4th and 5th edition D&D (contemporary era, not something that happened in the Realms hundreds of years ago). A good story, solid protagonists, and a plot that is not very convoluted. I'm not well versed in all the little details of Realms history, so a complicated storyline would probably confuse me.

Basically… looking for a good Realms novel… that's a good read for someone who is a first-time Realms reader. Suggestions? Thanks.

Edited by - moonbeast on 21 Oct 2015 00:19:34

Artemas Entreri
Great Reader

USA
3131 Posts

Posted - 21 Oct 2015 :  02:15:24  Show Profile Send Artemas Entreri a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hmm for a solid 4e (ish) book that doesn't require extensive Realms knowledge to enjoy ... I'd recommend Venom in Her Veins. It's a solid standalone that should whet your appetite for more.

Some people have a way with words, and other people...oh, uh, not have way. -Steve Martin

Amazon "KindleUnlimited" Free Trial: http://amzn.to/2AJ4yD2