Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Time Travel?
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Baptor
Seeker

USA
93 Posts

Posted - 18 Feb 2015 :  03:09:41  Show Profile  Visit Baptor's Homepage Send Baptor a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Fellow scholars of the Realms,

With the Sundering well underway in my Realms game, I'm about to drop an ace card I've been holding onto since 2008. One of my old players actually became a lesser power back in the 1300s. When I heard about the Spellplague in 2008, I wrote into my history that this lesser power was able to seal himself away into a pocket plane inside the demiplane of time as a kind of divine timecapsule. I had no idea what I wanted to use it for but I felt one day a retcon or something might be in order.

Well, now that the Sundering is underway, I'd like to play my ace, and I'd like to do something pretty cool with it.

Basically my players (who have been good and faithful players for many years in the Realms) have some GREAT characters who, as far as they know, died during the 100 year time jump. When they were informed, they were sad, but took it in stride and we played on. They never complained.

What I'd like to do is rule that during the Spellplague, this lesser power snatched some of these characters up into his pocket plane to remain with him in temporal stasis until the Sundering, when they will be released back into the timeline.

No one really noted their disappearance because lots of people died or vanished during the Spellplague. It was a rough time!

Now it's my game and I'm aware I can do whatever I want, but I did want to bounce this idea off you guys since I want it to be a surprise to my players.