Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Regions of Faerun Cultural Flavors
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

drkissinger1
Acolyte

USA
32 Posts

Posted - 16 Sep 2014 :  01:39:28  Show Profile  Visit drkissinger1's Homepage Send drkissinger1 a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I'm sure this topic has been addressed in various iterations before, but I'm a History grad student and can't help myself:

Inventing an entire fictional culture ex nihilo is almost impossible. Generally, we use real-life cultural and historical archetypes as shorthand to get the reader/player a sense of the locale. Some regions are simple to characterize this way: Calimshan is straight out of 1001 Nights, for example. Others are a bit more complicated but still manageable, like in this excerpt from Mysteries of the Moonsea:

quote:
The best way to express the feel of the Moonsea is in real-world terms. If you combine the “harsh land makes a strong people” themes of the Viking civilization with the “we will persevere against adversity” attitude of the pre-Soviet Russian commoners and the strike-it-rich frenzy of the California gold rush, you get a reasonable approximation of the region’s temperament.

Cormyr and the Dalelands always struck me as Faerun's most standard medieval Western Europe setting. Rashemen has a unique pagan barbarian flavor that I've yet to quite pin down (perhaps pagan Slavic?). Thay is a classic evil magocracy with vaguely Egyptian fashion.