Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Assassinating the Lords of Waterdeep
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Gmdirewolfe
Acolyte

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 13 Sep 2014 :  03:54:41  Show Profile Send Gmdirewolfe a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I'm Running a game set in Waterdeep, and I was wondering if anyone had some insight into a few questions that I have. I'm pretty new to the Forgotten Realms setting, but I've done some research on Waterdeep and some of the other key places in the setting. The premise of my Campaign is that one of the Lords of Waterdeep is assassinated, and the PC's are trying to uncover the mystery behind his murder. The Campaign is set before the Spellplague and I have a list of the known Lords of Waterdeep around that time, plus a few I made up to fill in the rest.

I was wondering if there were any groups, cults, etc, who would try and gain a hold in Waterdeep by assassinating some of the Masked Lords.I was thinking the Cult of the Dragon, even though they are usually around the Dragon Coast. Also if anyone has any cool ideas for the campaign I am open to suggestions, as some advice from someone who knows more about the setting would be awesome. Thanks.

GMDW

Jeremy Grenemyer
Great Reader

USA
2717 Posts

Posted - 13 Sep 2014 :  04:33:14  Show Profile Send Jeremy Grenemyer a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I would think any cult centered on the worship of beholders would take a shot at one or more Masked Lords, either to replace them with someone of the cult's liking, or to weaken the Lords so the cult can gain a foothold and power in Waterdeep.