Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Deities of Toril during The Sundering
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

forgottenfruit
Acolyte

Canada
7 Posts

Posted - 24 Apr 2014 :  19:26:48  Show Profile  Visit forgottenfruit's Homepage Send forgottenfruit a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I started playing D&D and reading FR books during the start of The Sundering. Right now my players are playing Scourge of the Sword Coast and I got some serious confusions on which deity is alive and which isn't.

Seems a lot of the resources are dated and inconsistent.

I specifically want help figured out which deity is Lawful Neutral and what's going on between Amaunator and Lathander.

It was originally Lathander as Neutral Good, then at some point during the Spellplague, Lathander disappeared and was replaced by Amaunator suggesting they are one in the same. This was confirmed during the Year of the Blue Fire right after the Spellplague.

So Amaunator is the current Sun gone with Lathander as an aspect of him. Got it.

But what about the alignments? Are either of them Lawful Neutral? Is there even two deities there since they are the same person?

The forgotten realms Wikia says Amaunator is Lawful Neutral but the Wikipedia entry has him as Neutral Good while the Forgotten Realms Player's Guide (Released during 4th Ed) says he's Lawful God.

Ahh!!!

I know Paladins must be of the exact alignment of their patron deity and Sir Isteval worships Amaunator but calls him Lathander. He is Lawful Good.. so then Amaunator is Lawful Good? ..right?

I'm confused! Help me understand Amaunator/Lathander and pick pick a deity for my Lawful Neutral Paladin!