Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Whatever happens with 5E and the Realms…
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Jeremy Grenemyer
Great Reader

USA
2717 Posts

Posted - 02 Jul 2012 :  03:25:49  Show Profile Send Jeremy Grenemyer a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
…I think I’ll be happy.

Lately I’ve been enjoying the Forgotten Realms a lot. You could even say it’s the most fun I’ve had from the setting since it was first released and my friends and I started playing D&D and AD&D there.

In particular, I’ve been collecting new lore about Cormyr. Also, I’ve been having a blast DMing in the Realms. The players in my realms campaign just completed the second campaign arc (set in Cormyr). It’s the first time I’ve ever had players clap at the table at the end of an adventure arc.

I tried to tell them it’s all in the books; that the adventure (Into the Dragon’s Lair), the sourcebooks (Volo’s Guide to Cormyr), online content (Backdrop: Cormyr, Crowns and Mantles: the Ranks and Titles of Cormyr) and the novels (Cormyr, Death of the Dragon, Elminster Must Die, Bury Elminster Deep), and a few bits and pieces from several other sources, all made the adventure possible, but they wouldn’t have it.

I think as long as I get something Realms-related from D&D Next/5E that I can add to the list of books I use to run successful D&D games, I’ll be happy.

With Ed at the helm I suspect I’ll get that.

And if I don’t get something to add to the list, I know that I’ll still be able to have at least as much fun as I’m having right now.

And that’s what it’s all about: having fun. So things will be fine and I (and my players) will still be happy.