Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Realmslore
 Chamber of Sages
 Questions for Ed Greenwood (2009)
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 103

Asgetrion
Master of Realmslore

Finland
1564 Posts

Posted - 24 Jun 2009 :  06:17:03  Show Profile  Visit Asgetrion's Homepage Send Asgetrion a Private Message
Uzzy, as a librarian I will echo Ed's words (and he said it so well that I don't know if I can add anything)... it can be the most tedious or rewarding job in the world, and a lot depends on your co-workers, general working atmosphere, location, size, and so on. Of course, love of books and reading plus getting the degree is a good start, but it doesn't stop there -- you need to read *constantly* (and not just works from your preferred genre, but also what we call "required reading") and keep up with the current "clack" (both in libraries and publishing industry, e.g. by reading journals, lists, blogs and sites dedicated to literature, publishing and libraries).
All this requires adaptibility, speed-reading and personal sacrifices on your spare time.

You also need to know a bit about, well, pretty much everything, and even if you don't, you need to at least know how to search and identify the relevant sources where the information is to be found (e.g. the relevant titles in the library catalog or on the shelves or references/documents in an online database). A good librarian knows how to analyze people and interpret their questions and needs (for example, someone asking for a certain issue of a magazine might only want a single tidbit of information which might be found directly on the Internet). You need to think, read and analyze things quickly (analytical thinking also helps a lot with cataloguing ;)).